garden spider It’s a beautiful sort of fall day.  I love those days in between the seasons when it’s not too hot and not too cold.

The cats have been out all day enjoying the day and I put off my “projects” around the house in favor of a nice nap on a quiet Sunday afternoon with the window open as a cool breeze blows through.

It’s also the time of year when the mama garden spiders come out.  I’m not a big fan of spiders, but these Georgia Yellow and Black Garden spiders are fascinating.  They never seem to move, hanging stone still in the middle of their large oval webs.

And just as suddenly as they appear, they’re gone. It’s as if they roll up their webs and steal away in the night, never to return until next summer. spider

They’re not poisonous to humans and are non-aggressive.  Even if you bother their web, they don’t move.

I caught sight of this big girl (their leg span from tip to tip is about three-inches. Their bodies about an inch long) who spun a web in my lantana bush sometime overnight. No doubt she’s after a tasty butterfly.

