Algie2It wasn’t the best scenario, but at least the kittens and their mama are not in the street fending for themselves.

Our local shelter is small but clean, humane and well run.  They have a large open cat room for adoptable cats and kittens and I can only hope they all make it in there after their period of quarantine and find homes.  If not, at least they won’t die in the streets of disease or by cars or predators  – human and animal.  (One of my neighbors offered me his gun so I could shoot them.) 

I had run into our county sheriff  last night at a meeting I was covering and lamented about the lack of an animal control officer in Franklin County and the situation with these kittens.  He told me to call him in the morning and he’d send a deputy out to get them and take them to the shelter.

While the shelter wouldn’t take them from me, private citizen, they would take them in from a law enforcement officer. Well the Sheriff came out himself this morning and picked them up.  He has two cats of his own and he understood the problem.

Meantime, daddy tom cat with the bad eye is getting worse. I didn’t realize how sickly he is.  I think the best answer for him is to have him humanely euthanized.  I know many disagree with that, but he’s not going to get better and he has nowhere else to go.  So I’m going to take him this weekend to my vet.

Left to roam the neighborhood he’ll only get worse and might spread disease. His eye is bad and he’s not putting on weight even though I’m feeding him every day and treating his eye with antibiotics.

These are the sad facts of pet overpopulation..the sad results of irresponsible people..the animals suffer and others are left to clean up their mess.  I’ve decided to research grants and write for a grant to fund free spay/neuters here.  The only way this will be solved is when people start fixing their animals.

sigh.

