AlysceAnneYes, I am your stereotypical cat lady, though I loathe the term.  I’ve enjoyed a successful career as a broadcast journalist and lived all over the country. Through it all, I’ve always had a cat. I like cats. They fit my personality more than dogs.  I like how they think.

My background also includes over 25 years as a volunteer in humane rescue. As a result, I’m the proud mother of 10 cats of various ages.

I don’t recommend having more than 4 cats, but that’s the way it is at our house. It’s a lot of cleaning. Cats like clean …. and so do I.  If you don’t like to clean, don’t have cats…period.

Over the years, I’ve had the opportunity to observe them close up and personal and have discovered that domestic feline behavior is undiscovered territory. 

They are not, “independent and aloof.” They are also not dogs.  People as a rule expect cats to behave like dogs. And when they don’t, they are called “not friendly, independent, don’t make very good pets.”

 Cats’ whole view of the world is very different from that of a dog.  I will explain in the coming days.   

